Dark Immolation

This book.

This freakin‘ book.

If you read my review of Duskfall, you’d know I was a pretty big fan of that debut and its author, Christopher Husberg. I don’t just call any book the best new book I read in 2016, yet Duskfall was, hands down, certainly that.

Since reading it, I’ve have been eager to see what would happen next. Eager to get my hands on the sequel, to see if Husberg would continue the trend of writing characters that pull my emotions in a thousand different directions at once; creating situations and twists that boggle my mind and leave me whispering profanities at an alarming rate as I struggle to turn the pages fast enough; weave a world so intricate and beautiful and terrifying that I’m just stunned with awe and wonder; and leave me with an ending that makes me so desperate for more, I’d actually consider striking a deal with Azael just to get a glimpse of what happens next in Blood Requiem. 

Friends.

I was so not disappointed.

30780373

I’m not even sure where to begin. I guess, I could start, with the beginning: the way the book started was…brilliant. It was intriguing, it was different and I suddenly found myself feeling two very conflicting emotions at once: curiosity at the new developments we’re immediately thrown into and yet a feeling of…home. A feeling I’ve missed since I last journeyed with these characters. Yet the more pages I read, the more at home I felt.

You know, if that home was on fire and you were just sitting in the middle of it, thinking it can’t get worse because you’ve already lost the kitchen, the basement and the dining room, but then you turn around and suddenly the entire second floor has collapsed as well, yet you don’t move because you still believe the flames will cease and things can’t get worse. Cue repeating until your entire home is nothing but ash.

Because shit goes down in this book.

Amazing shit. Crazy shit. Baffling shit. Jaw-dropping shit. Just a ton of epic and awesome shit.

And I have a distinct feeling that Husberg is just getting started.

I read this book in 100-page chunks because anything less than that would just not be enough. Even now, after reading all 500+ pages, I’m left feeling unsatisfied. That feeling, however, is not to say that this book wasn’t amazing and I didn’t completely enjoy what happened within it–because that’s totally the case. Dark Immolation is a fantastic sequel that not only delivers on all the epicness we came to expect from Husberg after reading Duskfall, but it continued to elevate and evolve those expectations. As the series continues, I have no doubt in my mind that Husberg will continue to deliver. No, I’m unsatisfied because I’m selfish and impatient and I just want to know the result of SPOILER SPOILER and figure out what happens to SPOILER SPOILER now, instead of waiting until June 2018.

You know. A year from now.

BBC tv sherlock bbc bbc one GIF

Regardless of those selfish desires, I loved Dark Immolation. I loved falling right back into the world that captivated me so utterly last year. I loved how the story was constantly complicated by new conflicts and characters that heightened the narrative and forced me to keep reading well past the time I allotted for myself to do so. The plot thickens and continues to mold into something truly fantastic and I am so glad I stumbled upon this series and this author. Apologies, friends, if I continue to nag you about reading it like I have since reading Duskfall. 

But just trust me: in a series filled with political upheavals, religious revivals, charismatic and complicated characters, a healthy mix of humor with an enjoyable amount of darkness and enough twists and turns that you’re gonna wish you had a road-map and taken notes along the way…can you seriously tell me you want to purposefully choose to miss out on this adventure?

Yeah, I didn’t think so.

Read on!

PS: Also, after reading this book, I am suddenly very intrigued that both Duskfall and Dark Immolation are part of a quintet titled The Chaos Queen. *instantly vanishes to muse over potential meanings*

Leave a Reply

