Ten Ten: Books I’ve Read in 2017

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish where a different theme is posted each week and book bloggers respond. This week’s theme is: Top Ten Books I’ve Read in 2017.

And this week’s theme also comes with a confession: I might, ah, have not even read 10 books yet in 2017.

*cue dramatic and ridiculous music*

According to my Goodreads, I’ve only read 8. That’s…a tad bit embarrassing, to be honest. Though these books have become my top ten by default, I have been really lucky in that all of them were really, really good, so even if I had read more, they prolly would have been on this list, anyway.

So, let’s begin, then.

The Bloodbound Trilogy by Erin Lindsey
Reviews: HereHere and Here

20949421    24611461    28439795

Must read: if you want fantastic, strong characters, political turmoil and enough “Oh, shit,” moments to keep the pages turning well past your bedtime.

The Scorched Continent Series by Megan E. O’Keefe
Reviews: Here and Here

24727881      28185908

Must read: if you love a snarky duo who complement each other to perfection, attention to detail that puts you in the story and epic airships.

Warlock Holmes: The Hell-hound of the Baskervilles by G.S. Denning
Review: Here

33783424

Must read: if you’ve ever wanted to see Sherlock Holmes with a fantasy twist (and see it done well) and to laugh so hard your coworkers yell at you. Repeatedly.

The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett
Review:

6736971

Must read: if you want to know how to kill a Corling multiple different ways, you want to learn Jardir’s backstory and you want to have your mind challenged and expanded.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
Review: Here

18196876

Must read: if you want your “best book I’ve ever read” spot to have a new contender. Because holy shit.

Bonus Books (which are totally not added to get me up to ten total) that I’m really stoked to read and both just so happen to be in my possession currently (thanks, public library).

Kangaroo Too by Curtis C. Chen

31450857

Excited to Read: the first book gave me a taste of hilarious science fiction I didn’t realize I’d desired and had been sorely missing out on. Plus, we get more Jessica in this book and she was prolly my favorite character in the last one (sorry, Kangaroo).

Dark Immolation by Christopher Husberg 

30780373

Excited to Read: sequel to Duskfall, which was hands down the BEST book I read in 2016, I’ve been impatiently waiting to read what happens next since I read the last page of book one. There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that I will love this one as much as I did the first and it deserves to be on this list.

Read on!

Leave a Reply

