Waiting on Wednesday: The Tethered Mage

waitingonwednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine where we readers salivate over the books we wish were on our bookshelves yesterday.

This week’s victim: The Tethered Mage by Melissa Caruso.

This is Caruso’s debut novel and even without a cover, as far as I’m aware (I’m sorry I keep finding books without a cover, but there are just too many good books that are coming out that I want to rave about, eye candy or no!), just based off the blurb alone, I am absolutely so stoked to read the start of this new fantasy series:

In a world where magic is scarce, those born with power must be strictly guarded—for their own good, and for the good of the Crown. Conscripted by the Falcon army from childhood, the mage-marked are cared for, trained, and housed in luxury. But for some, the life of a Falcon is a prison.

Zaira has lived her life in hiding to avoid becoming a Falcon, thieving on the streets to survive. But a rare and dangerous magic flows through her veins: fire bends to her will, and sparks rise at her thoughts alone. Without training, she is a threat to herself. And to the entire empire.

Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations. There are many that would see her dead, simply for the power her last name holds.

But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre.

Why isn’t this hardcover already on my bookshelf!?

I discovered Caruso on Twitter, where I started following her blog. I immediately fell in love with it and ensure I never miss a post. Her posts are a delight to read. They have spunk, they are usually about writing (so obviously, as an author myself, I always get giddy when I find awesome writing blogs) and they are so informative and fun. And it’s allowed me to follow her publishing journey as we both, I think, anxiously await the release of The Tethered Mage, which is ambiguously coming out this Fall from Orbit Books. I have a pretty good feeling this is a writer and trilogy that we are all going to get stoked about. I’m certainly waiting for her debut to find out.

*stares at the calendar hoping a magical date will appear of when her wait will end and the glorious nights of staying up past her bedtime reading begins*

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

