Friday Firsts: The Lies of Locke Lamora

Friday Firsts is a weekly meme hosted by Tenacious Reader (and I discovered from Lynn’s blog over at Books and Travelling with Lynn) where readers post the first few lines of the book they are currently reading and their initial impressions.

This week’s victim: The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch.

“At the height of the long wet summer of the Seventy-seventh Year of Sendovani, the Thiefmaker of Camorr paid a sudden and unannounced visit to the Eyeless Priest at the Temple of Perelandro, desperately hoping to sell him the Lamora boy.”

Image result for the lies of locke lamoraI had two first impressions. One: I was impressed that the entire first paragraph was actually one sentence long (and there’s the writer in me, to notice such things). The second impression, based off of all the information given in that single sentence, was that this book was going to be filled with lore and I might, perhaps, struggle to keep up. 300 pages in and 400 more to go, I was right in regards to the first half–the lore is fantastic and in-depth and intricate. I was wrong about the second half. I am keeping up very well, particularly because the way the entire book is structured and written. I’ll say more in my review, but I will tease in saying that it’s bloody brilliant.

Read on!

Leave a Reply

