The This is My Genre Book Tag!

When I was brainstorming ways to incorporate more posts onto this blog aside from my book reviews, I thought, “Oh, on Mondays, I could do a book tag every week!” It wasn’t until I realized that you actually had to be tagged in order to do one that I knew that plan isn’t going to exactly work.

Plus, today’s a Tuesday, so…

But, my friend Drew over at The Tattooed Book Geek, one of my favorite book review blogs that I’ve been lucky to stumble upon, took pity on me and told me that I could participate in the book tag he created and I shortened in the title of this post: The This Is My Genre Tell Me Yours Book Tag. And I’m pretty stoked, so let’s get started:

thisismtgenrenrwlogo

  1. What is your favorite genre?
    1. Fantasy. Particularly adult/high/epic.
  2. Who’s your favorite author from the genre?
    1. This is a cruel question. How do you pick just one? You can’t, so I’m going to list Image result for j.r.r. tolkienthree: my all-time favorite and inspiration is, naturally, the Father of Fantasy himself, J.R.R. Tolkien. My go-to favorite is Jim Butcher. And my current addictions are (okay, I lied, I’m listing four) Brent Weeks and Brandon Sanderson.
  3. What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?
    1. Characters and worldbuilding and creatures. I love the limitlessness of fantasy. You want a dragon as a protagonist? Go for it. You want to start a war in the Fae Kingdom? Done. You want there to be hardly any traceable elements to our known world to be present, but instead entering into someplace undiscovered and impossible (supposedly) to exist? Yes, please. I’m drawn to this genre because I never really know what I’m getting myself into, but I know what I want: to escape from the world I’m currently stuck in. And that’s always a guarantee with fantasy.
  4. What’s the book that started your love for you favorite genre?
    1. An author who definitely is one of my top authors of all time, Tamora Pierce, wrote a gem called Alanna: The First Adventure. My aunt got it at a bookstore, once, when I was visiting in town and we went together. 1164671I’d read vivaciously as a kid, but I’d never really dipped into the realm of fantasy until this book. Reading it not only introduced me to Pierce’s work, of which I’d read ALL, but so many other authors. And I am forever grateful.
  5. 5. If you had to recommend at least one book from your favorite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?
    1. This is another hard question, especially with so many variables. But I think I’m going with The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett. I couldn’t put this book down, it was so excellently written, with fantastic worldbuilding, amazing, complex characters and the fantastic side effect of losing track of time, sense of space and any knowledge of self, because you’re so immersed in this story, these characters, this world. Yeah, not a bad place to start, here.
  6. Why do you read?
    1. To escape and to live.

Well, I hope you enjoyed the answers in that tag. If you did and want to try it yourself, go for it (I’m still too new in the book blogger community to have a batch of reviewers to tag myself). Just make sure to credit Drew when you do–and why don’t you go check out his reviews while you’re at it? They’re pretty rad. 🙂

Read on!

One thought on “The This is My Genre Book Tag!

  1. Lol, I wouldn’t say that I took pity on you, more like it was self blog promotion! People follow my blog and me on twitter and Facebook, my blog is cool and I’m awesome!😂😀👍 Can’t beat self promotion but nah, I know you’re a fantasy fan and thought your answers would be cool and they are! I love The Warded Man, or as it’s known in the UK, The Painted Man, one of my favourite books and a massive yes to, escape and live for why you read.

    But damn, did you have to mention Tolkein!?! Everytime I see a picture of him chomping a cigar or read his name that epic rap battle between Tolkien vs Martin comes to mind and I can’t get it out my head!😂

    Great answers.😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

