In the Highlander’s Bed

Last night, I got home around 11:00pm and was planning to get up around 8am, to take my dog Shadow for a walk before getting ready for work. After talking with the ‘rents and prepping for bed, it reached 11:30pm and I knew I should turn off the light and go to bed. I knew that. Because if I did anything else–like, start a new book, for instance–I knew I wasn’t going to want to get up the morning. I glanced over at the three romance books I had checked out from the library. I decided to peruse the back covers again, as it had been so long since I’d checked them out, I’d forgotten what they were about.

One was a traditional historical romance. One was a steampunk romance dealing with curses and a scarred hero. (I got it for the scarred hero.) And then the last one featured a Scottish highlander.

Around 11:45pm, I opened up In the Highlander’s Bed by Cathy Maxwell, telling myself I’d just read a little bit; get a feel for the characters, see if this Scottish rogue was as lovable and heart-throbbing as I hoped he’d be, and then I’d get some sleep, so I could make my 8am wake up call.

By 2:15am, I had roughly 30 pages left.

It wasn’t the best romance I had ever read–I was hoping to be wooed (like, butterfly-inducing) and wooed I wasn’t–but obviously not the worst, either, considering I read it in one sitting. At the beginning, I found myself picking out little nuances and whatnot that I thought could have been better; a phrase or a word. But I quickly forgot those nuances and got pulled into the Scot who wanted revenge and the heroine who wanted to return home. Constance was from America and wanted to return there from England, which I thought was hilarious, as I am an American who would sell everything in order to be “stuck” in England or Scotland, as she put it. So it was hard for me to sympathize with her on that aspect. I did like how she wasn’t afraid to take charge and didn’t let her “womanly natures” stop her. Plus, she was super inspiring to other characters within the story, so I couldn’t help but like her, despite being unable to understand the appeal of America.

I also thought this book was a little less on the steamy side, but it was sort of a refreshing change, in that instance. The steamy scenes were done politely, so I wasn’t turned off by them and while I love myself a heated romance scene, I don’t need one every other chapter, like some romances I’ve read. So the balance between story and steam was well done, despite wanting to be wooed more by the Scottish hero.

The best aspect of the book was the subtle way backstory was introduced. I loved reading a chunk of description or going back and forth between dialogue with characters, but then a line or two would be inserted with a vital piece of information concerning one of the characters, yet it was always just a hint; making the readers interested in what was happening yet prolonging the full story. I really enjoyed that.

Overall, it was a decent book and a decent romance. The characters were interesting and it set up the next book well enough that I plan on reading it, simply because I actually really like and am curious about the secondary character the next book features. It wasn’t a bad way to put off going to bed.

Oh, and I definitely got up at 10am and missed our walk. Sorry, Shadow.

Read on!

Leave a Reply

